Robbery Charges in Colorado
Robbery is a felony charge in Colorado. It is outlined in the Colorado Revised Statutes, section, 18-4-301 and is defined as follows:
(1) A person who knowingly takes anything of value from the person or presence of another by the use of force, threats, or intimidation commits robbery.
(2) Robbery is a class 4 felony.
Note that simple robbery does not require the use of a deadly weapon.Any degree of force or threats used is sufficient to charge robbery.If I walk up to an old lady on the sidewalk and say, “give me your purse, or I will hurt you,” I have just committed simple Robbery, assuming I did not use a deadly weapon.Simple Robbery is much less serious than its cousin, Aggravated Robbery, defined in CRS 18-4-302. Aggravated Robbery includes the added element of a deadly weapon being used or displayed during the commission of a robbery. Also, Aggravated Robbery is a “crime of violence” in Colorado, which requires an offender to be imprisoned from 10-32 years.
Simple Robbery is not a crime of violence.It is still quite serious, however.It is classified as a class four felony, which can require imprisonment from 2-6 years, possibly longer, if a judge finds aggravating circumstances.Robbery is, by contrast, more serious than simple theft, which involves the taking of someone else’s property without the use of force.Robbery is viewed as a crime against a person, rather than simply against a person’s property.
A Robbery charge is quite serious and needs to be handled expertly by a criminal defense attorney.If you or a loved one have been charged with Robbery or any other crime, give us a call.We can help.