Colorado Sex Crimes Lawyer
Sex crimes are extremely serious, and a conviction can be devastating to a person’s life, even if that person is found innocent. If you are charged with sexual assault, you need an experienced, professional Denver criminal attorney who understands the specifics of the law in Colorado.
Sexual assault occurs when the defendant knowingly sexually penetrates or intrudes a victim by causing the victim to submit against his or her will. Additionally, sexual assault charges can be brought when the victim was incapable of understanding the sexual conduct or was unconscious, asleep, or otherwise unable to consent and the defendant knew the victim to be in such state. A person can be charged with sexual assault if the victim was under the age of 14 and the defendant was at least 4 years older than the victim, or if the victim was 15 or 16 and the defendant was at least 10 years older than the victim.
Unlawful sexual contact is when the defendant knowingly touched the victim’s intimate parts or made the victim touch the defendant’s intimate parts. In unlawful sexual contact cases, the victim does not consent, cannot understand the sexual conduct, or is unconscious or asleep and cannot consent. A person can be charged with unlawful sexual contact if the defendant used date rape drugs to impair the victim or knowingly coerced a child under the age of 18 to engage in the sexual contact.
The penalties for a sexual assault or unlawful sexual contact conviction are very severe. Unlawful sexual contact is a class 4 felony if the defendant compelled the victim by use of force, intimidation, or threat. Sexual assault ranges from a class 1 misdemeanor to a class 2 felony depending on the violence of the situation and other mitigating factors. As the aggravating factors increase, the fines and prison time a defendant will face also increase. A class 4 sexual assault felony carries 4-12 years in prison, thousands of dollars in fines, and mandatory parole. If the defendant forced the victim with physical force or violence or used a date rape drug, the defendant will be charged with a class 3 sexual assault felony that requires a sentence of 8-24 years in prison, even higher fines, and mandatory parole. If the defendant was helped by someone, the victim suffered serious physical injury, or the defendant was armed with a deadly weapon, he or she will be charged with a class 2 felony and will face 16-48 years in prison, up to $1 million in fines, and mandatory parole. Additionally, some more serious sex offenses are classified in an “indeterminate” sentencing range. These individuals may be kept in custody for the rest of their lives, even if they have served all of the time in their sentencing range.
Being convicted of a sex crime in Colorado will not only affect you in the years you serve in prison, but once you are released from prison. If convicted, you will be registered as a sex offender for the rest of your life. This is something you will have to tell your neighbors, friends, and future employers about. Convicted sex offenders will face serious prejudice, and your record will determine where you can live and work for the rest of your life.
Sex crimes are a highly sensitive and emotional subject, and juries are frequently biased in favor of the victim. Without an experienced Denver criminal attorney, your chances at a fair trial or plea bargain are significantly reduced. At Hebets and McCallin, we know your rights and we will do everything in our power to serve you.
Start Your Free Case Evaluation Now!
Use the form below to start your free Hebets & McCallin criminal case evaluation. One of our experienced Denver criminal defense lawyers will get back with you right away.